Tunji Adeniyi-Jones is a London born artist, currently studying Fine Art at the Ruskin School in Oxford with ambitions to pursue his masters in America. Tunji works in a diverse range of media, from oil painting and drawing to more contemporary methods such as photo collages and masks.

When discussing his work and himself as an artist, Tunji explains:

“Often when people ask me where I’m from and I tell them London, they want a bit more, because I’m black. This is the main theme of my current work – cultural expectation and black identity, specifically in the UK. I’d say my most recent work is extremely self indulgent and personal. It’s definitely all about me and how I feel, but in many ways I’m also trying to speak to a much broader issue that applies to every black male in the country. I’m not necessarily trying to make any radical differences or changes, just raise awareness. I’m a huge fan of Steve McQueen’s recent film ’12 Years a slave’ because of the way in which it does just that; raise awareness. The significance lying in the fact that McQueen is a British director, and he’s trying to address racial issues that are frequently swept under the rug and dismissed in this country. I’d say he’s definitely a figure I look up to at the moment.”


We particularly love Tunji’s Hockney-inspired photomontages which combine composite images of various African motifs. These works, which deal with personal themes of cultural identity, provide thought provoking and visually compelling images. 

Make sure you check out Tunji’s website for more examples of his work: tunjiadeniyi-jones.com

 

